Thursday, 4 January 2007

Squads named

Two New Zealand teams have just been named. The first is for the fourth ODI against Sri Lanka and includes:

Brendon McCullum, Stephen Fleming (capt), Ross Taylor, Peter Fulton, Hamish
Marshall, Craig McMillan, Daniel Vettori, James Franklin, Andre Adams, Mark
Gillespie, Shane Bond, Michael Mason, Jeetan Patel

So Fleming finally returns (replacing Nathan Astle) and Craig McMillan has another chance in the middle order.

The second squad is for the tri-series in Australia. It includes:

Stephen Fleming (capt), Nathan Astle, Ross Taylor, Peter Fulton, Hamish
Marshall, Brendon McCullum, Craig McMillan, James Franklin, Dan Vettori, Jeetan
Patel, Andre Adams, Mark Gillespie, Michael Mason, Shane Bond

New Zealand has reserved the right to interchange players at any time on the month-long tour, so Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram and Scott Styris are likely to appear at some stage.

James Marshall is the unlucky current player who fails to make either squad.

1 comment:

Yugan said...

It puzzles me why John Bracewell has picked seven bowlers in 13 and 14-man squads. Especially considering the fact Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram and Scott Styris can all bowl and are likely starters when they are fit.

Also I'd like to see Jeetan Patel playing all the games from now to the World Cup. I feel he may be a key bowler in the World Cup as the West Indies pitches are likely to be low and slow.

Here's the team I'd like to see playing leading up to the World Cup:

1. Stephen Fleming (c)
2. Brendon McCullum (wk)
3. Ross Taylor
4. Nathan Astle
5. Scott Styris
6. Peter Fulton
7. Jacob Oram
8. Daniel Vettori
9. Kyle Mills
10. Shane Bond
11. Jeetan Patel